What to sound smarter?

Here’s a grammar rule worth heeding: the difference between compare with and compare to . Compare with means ” to place side by side,noting the differences and similarities,”as in:”Warren’s boss noted his inconsistency as she compared his goals with his yearly performance.” Use compare to when you want to to note only similarities,usually between unlike objects,as Shakespeare did”Shall I compare thee to a summer’s day.”

 

Reader’ Digest

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “What to sound smarter?

  1. I haven’t checked in here for a while because I thought it was getting boring, but the last several posts are great quality so I guess I’ll add you back to my daily bloglist. You deserve it my friend :)

Leave a Reply

